Gate lodge located along the B3347 Sopley Road constructed in red brick with stone dressings. Built circa 1868 during the ‘Picturesque movement’ in the Victorian Gothic revival style. (‘The Picturesque’ movement was characterised by irregularity and variety, creating a dramatic appearance to its buildings). T shaped plan with plain tiled roof. Stone coped gables, kneelers and ornamental finials. Stair turret with tall steep hipped roof. Enclosed porch with pointed arched door. Stone window heads with decorative shouldered arches and shutters.
Sopley Park Manor House was built in 1790 by James Compton who was a successful sheep farmer. In 1834 the manor house was sold to wealthy London merchant and owner of the Schweppes company, John Kemp Welch, who in turn sold in 1885. After the second world war the house was used as a nursing home and two independent schools at various times but was demolished in 1988 to make way for a bible college.